With all of the electronic devices that have become so common in our lives today, distracted driving has become one of the most dangerous factors on the roads. Every year, thousands of people are injured or killed by someone else who was distracted by some sort of device while they were driving.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 2,841 people were killed in 2018 by distracted drivers. Among them were 1,730 drivers, 605 passengers, 400 pedestrians, and 77 bicyclists.
What Exactly Is Distracted Driving?
The NHTSA defines distracted driving as the act of driving a motor vehicle while doing anything that diverts your attention away from the road in front of you, the traffic around you, and controlling the car that you are driving. Some of the actions they classify as distracted driving include:
- Talking on your phone
- Texting on your phone
- Eating and drinking
- Talking to people in your vehicle
- Fiddling with things like the stereo, entertainment or navigation system
A particular example that shows off just how dangerous distracted driving can be is to think about someone sending or reading a text message, which takes about five seconds. At 55 mph, you can travel the length of a football field. Taking your eyes off the road for just five seconds is like driving the length of a football field blindfolded.
Nevada Laws Regarding Distracted Driving
Driving while using a cell phone or texting is illegal in Nevada. The details are spelled out in the Nevada Revised Statutes 484B.165. Fines are $50 for the first offense, $100 for the second offense within seven years, and $250 for a third or subsequent offense. An offender can also be charged additional court fees and fines can be doubled if the offense happens in a work zone. You could also possibly get 4 demerit points on your license.
Not only is knowingly doing something that causes distracted driving a crime, but it could also make a person liable for injuries, damages, and death if they are involved in an accident because of it.
Have You Been The Victim Of A Distracted Driver?
Have you been in an accident or otherwise injured because of someone driving in a distracted state? You may be able to file a personal injury claim to recover compensation to cover the expenses you’ve incurred.
Under Nevada law, if you are injured because of the negligence of another person, that person can be held liable for consequences such as medical expenses, doctor visits, drug and therapy treatments, surgeries, repairs to the property, and more.
Even if you don’t think your injuries are severe, you should still consult with a qualified distracted driver attorney and have your case evaluated. Some injuries can go nearly unnoticed at first only to manifest days or weeks later as serious problems requiring extensive and expensive medical treatment.
What Should You Do If You’ve Been Hit By A Distracted Driver?
If you’ve been in any type of accident with a distracted driver, the first thing you should do, of course, is making sure you get proper medical attention.
If possible, you should try to document as much of the accident scene as you can and get any contact information you may be able to obtain from witnesses. You should also make sure that you have the distracted driver’s complete license, registration, and insurance information. If you can, take pictures with your phone, don’t try to write or remember things.
If they don’t arrive on their own, you should also call the police and make sure a full police report is filed. To document the circumstances as well.
Speak With A Qualified Las Vegas Distracted Driver Attorney
If you’ve been hurt in an accident as a driver, passenger, pedestrian, or bicyclist with a distracted driver, call the Law Offices of Cap & Kudler as soon as possible. The more time we have to investigate and develop your case, the better the chances we have of getting good results.
We’ve recovered millions of dollars for personal injury claims in the Las Vegas, Nevada area and we can do the same for you. Our team will work hard to make sure that your rights are protected and that you get the full and fair compensation to which you are entitled. Your first consultation is free and completely confidential. You can reach us anytime online or call (866) 412-7166 to arrange an appointment.