If you ride a motorcycle in the state of Nevada, you must be familiar with the rules of the road. These laws are set down by the Nevada Legislature and are designed to keep all of the state’s road-users as safe as possible. Some of the most important motorcycle laws you should familiarize yourself with include:
To legally operate a motorcycle in Nevada, you must have been issued a Class M license by the state. If you do not currently have one of these licenses, you can obtain one by taking a written exam and skills test at the DMV or completing a certified Motorcycle Safety Foundation course.
If you are a resident of Nevada, you must register your motorcycle with the state before you take it out onto the streets. If you have just moved to the state, you have 30 days to register your motorcycle with the DMV and swap your old license plates for Nevada ones.
If you wish to ride a motorcycle on a public road or highway in the state of Nevada, you are legally obligated to wear a helmet. The helmet must comply with all current U.S. Department of Transportation rules and regulations.
Motorcycles with engines smaller than 50cc are not subject to Nevada’s helmet laws. If you ride a motorcycle such as this, you do not legally have to wear a helmet – though you probably should, for safety reasons.
Sections 486.181 – 486.361 of the Nevada Revised Statutes outline the equipment guidelines that every motorcycle must adhere to. These rules state that motorcycles must:
- Have at least one headlamp
- Have no more than two headlamps
- Have turn signals
- Have handlebars which are below the heights of the driver’s shoulders
- Have stop lights
Before you take your motorcycle out onto Nevada’s roadways for the first time, you may wish to review this list to make sure that it is fully compliant with the law.
To drive a motorcycle in Nevada, you must have an insurance policy that exceeds the state’s 15/30/10 minimums. In other words, you must have purchased an insurance plan which will pay out up to $15,000 for a single injury, $30,000 for two or more injuries, and $10,000 for property damage. If you wish to provide yourself with additional financial protection, you can opt to purchase insurance which offers higher coverage rates.
No matter which policy you decide to buy, you should always carry proof of insurance with you when you go out riding.
Driving Under the Influence
Like most states, Nevada takes driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol extremely seriously. If you believe that your blood alcohol level may be above the state’s 0.08 limit, it is best to leave your motorcycle at home and take a cab or get a ride with a friend.
What Happens if I Violate Nevada’s, Motorcycle Laws?
If you are found to be in violation of Nevada’s helmet rules, licensing requirements, or another motorcycle law, you will almost certainly be given a ticket by the police. Depending on the severity of your violation, your ticket may cost you hundreds of dollars and could cause your insurance rates to go up.
If you believe that your ticket was not justified, you can choose to fight back against it by hiring an experienced traffic litigation attorney, like those here at Cap and Kudler. Your lawyer’s knowledge of Nevada traffic law has the potential to reduce your penalties or quash your ticket entirely.
Helping You Fight Back Against Your Motorcycle Tickets
Since our founding in 2004, the skilled attorneys here at Cap and Kudler have helped hundreds of clients resolve their traffic tickets. Our knowledge of the traffic court system coupled with our willingness to fight hard for our clients has seen us deliver exceptional results time after time. If you would like us to assist you with your motorcycle ticket, just give us a call at (702) 878-8778 or contact us online.